summaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorAlexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>2019-05-03 11:55:36 +0300
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2019-05-03 12:46:20 +0200
commit72e830f68428ab9ea9eca65d160795f4e02cecfc (patch)
tree53840a2c4795819bc7b7fb473da15f0b0bf25f55
parent26ae4f4406f88d82d79c85c11ac5fae18213cd38 (diff)
perf/x86/intel/pt: Remove software double buffering PMU capability
Now that all AUX allocations are high-order by default, the software double buffering PMU capability doesn't make sense any more, get rid of it. In case some PMUs choose to opt out, we can re-introduce it. Signed-off-by: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com> Acked-by: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl> Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Vince Weaver <vincent.weaver@maine.edu> Cc: adrian.hunter@intel.com Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190503085536.24119-3-alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
-rw-r--r--arch/x86/events/intel/pt.c3
-rw-r--r--include/linux/perf_event.h1
2 files changed, 1 insertions, 3 deletions
diff --git a/arch/x86/events/intel/pt.c b/arch/x86/events/intel/pt.c
index fb3a2f13fc70..339d7628080c 100644
--- a/arch/x86/events/intel/pt.c
+++ b/arch/x86/events/intel/pt.c
@@ -1525,8 +1525,7 @@ static __init int pt_init(void)
}
if (!intel_pt_validate_hw_cap(PT_CAP_topa_multiple_entries))
- pt_pmu.pmu.capabilities =
- PERF_PMU_CAP_AUX_NO_SG | PERF_PMU_CAP_AUX_SW_DOUBLEBUF;
+ pt_pmu.pmu.capabilities = PERF_PMU_CAP_AUX_NO_SG;
pt_pmu.pmu.capabilities |= PERF_PMU_CAP_EXCLUSIVE | PERF_PMU_CAP_ITRACE;
pt_pmu.pmu.attr_groups = pt_attr_groups;
diff --git a/include/linux/perf_event.h b/include/linux/perf_event.h
index e47ef764f613..1f678f023850 100644
--- a/include/linux/perf_event.h
+++ b/include/linux/perf_event.h
@@ -240,7 +240,6 @@ struct perf_event;
#define PERF_PMU_CAP_NO_INTERRUPT 0x01
#define PERF_PMU_CAP_NO_NMI 0x02
#define PERF_PMU_CAP_AUX_NO_SG 0x04
-#define PERF_PMU_CAP_AUX_SW_DOUBLEBUF 0x08
#define PERF_PMU_CAP_EXCLUSIVE 0x10
#define PERF_PMU_CAP_ITRACE 0x20
#define PERF_PMU_CAP_HETEROGENEOUS_CPUS 0x40